Skip to content

We Have Moved to 7575 Kinspointe Parkway Suite 21 Orlando,Fl 32819 Open Monday- Thursday 11 am-6pm and Saturday and Sunday 1130-5pm

Understanding the Heart Chakra

Understanding the Heart Chakra

A seven-month editorial series began with the Root Chakra (Sept), Sacral Chakra (Oct), Solar Plexus (Nov).  December is all about the Heart Chakra. What is it? What organs are affected? How can I support my energy body health?


Chakras are an integral part of physical, psychological and spiritual functions. Chakras are whirling energy centers correlated to acupuncture points. These energy centers control and energize major organs. When they malfunction, the vital organs become sick or dis-eased because they can become unbalanced. Lack of balance occurs when there is not enough (or conversely too much) life energy or prana.


The Heart Chakra is the fourth of seven chakras. It is located in the center of the chest, in front of the heart. Also known as Anahata (Sanskrit), it focuses on unconditional love, compassion and joy. It is the source of deep and profound truth that cannot be expressed in words.


The symbol is a mandala (circle) depicting a lotus flower. It consists of the following elements: 12 petals representing: peace, bliss, love, harmony, empathy, understanding, purity, clarity, compassion, unity, forgiveness and kindness. The frequency is 341Hz. The animal associated is a Wolf, which represents community awareness, and it supports others while receiving the same for itself.

The physical functions and the corresponding organs are Heart, Lungs, Thymus Gland (makes T-cells for immunity) and the Circulatory System. Malfunctions may manifest as infections (low T-cells). Lung problems: asthma, tuberculosis, pneumonia, emphysema. Heart ailments: irregular heartbeats, heart enlargement, rheumatic or partial failure.

The psychological function is connected to the solar plexus. The Solar plexus energy is sensitive to emotions. When harsh words, excessive verbal criticism or envy occur, this tension and stress greatly affects the Heart Chakra.

Green and Pink are the colors. The green represents the receiving and giving of love. Pink represents unconditional love in a soft, nurturing way. Wearing and surrounding yourself in these two colors helps one achieve heart balance. Supportive foods: kale, broccoli, spinach, chard, celery, green tea, avocado, lime, peas, kiwis, green apples are all good choices.


A recommended yoga pose is Cobra Pose. The Heart chakra is an air element symbolizing freedom and expansion of breath without restrictions. Cobra pose is a gentle backbend practiced from a face-down position that warms and strengthens the spine while opening the chest.

Activities: Watch what you think, feel and say. Make a “Gratitude List” for all the things in your life. Practice The Golden Rule: “Do unto others as you wish others do unto you.”

Try essential oils, incense or candle aromas such as patchouli, rose, jasmine and cypress.

The crystals are rose quartz, emeralds, green aventurine.


Affirmations include: “I am open to love.” and “I forgive myself and others.”


This article was created in collaboration with Maureen Keller, Pranic Healer at Pranic Life  and Kara, Body Intuitive and Owner of Shifting Souls Metaphysical Store.


Focused on providing self-directed health, Kara, Owner of Shifting Souls  Her store is located inside Unity of Central Florida (771 Holden Ave, Orlando, FL 32839).


 Kara can be reached at or 321-328-5912.

Older Post
Newer Post

Blog posts

Jan 26, 2023

Understanding the Throat Chakra

Kara Joyful Healer

A seven-month editorial series began with the Root Chakra (Sept), Sacral Chakra(Oct), Solar Plexus (Nov), Heart (Dec)...

Jan 26, 2023

Understanding the Heart Chakra

Kara Joyful Healer

A seven-month editorial series began with the Root Chakra (Sept), Sacral Chakra (Oct), Solar Plexus (Nov).  December ...

Jan 26, 2023

Understanding the Solar Plexus Chakra

Kara Joyful Healer

The Sacral Chakra is the second of seven chakras. It is located in the pelvic area. It is called Svadhisthana in Sanskrit. Physical creation occurs here and is needed for spiritual development.

Jan 26, 2023

Understanding the Sacral Chakra

Kara Joyful Healer

A seven-month editorial series began with the Root Chakra in the September edition of Natural Awakenings. October exp...

Nov 17, 2022

Understanding the Root Chakra

Kara Joyful Healer

The Root chakra (also called Muladhara or Pitti kalam) is the symbol of an elephant which is known as “abundant in strength.”
Close (esc)

Receive 10% off when you sign up to our newsletter.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.


Added to cart