Skip to content

We Have Moved to 7575 Kinspointe Parkway Suite 21 Orlando,Fl 32819 Open Monday- Thursday 11 am-6pm and Saturday and Sunday 1130-5pm

Understanding the Solar Plexus Chakra

Understanding the Solar Plexus Chakra

A seven-month editorial series began with the Root (Sept) and the Sacral Chakra (Oct). November is all about the Solar Plexus. What is it? What organs are affected? How can I support my energy body health?

Chakras are an integral part of physical, psychological and spiritual functions. Chakras are whirling energy centers correlated to acupuncture points. These energy centers control and energize major organs. When they malfunction, the vital organs become sick or dis-eased because they do not have enough life energy or prana to function properly.

The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura in Sanskrit) is the third of seven chakras. It is located above the naval in the hollow area between the ribs. The drive for power, intuition and desire stem from this energy center. Principles, ethics and beliefs are developed here. It is also the energy clearing house, and it connects the energy from the lower to the upper chakras.

The symbol is a mandala or circle depicting a lotus flower, consisting of 10 petals with vrittis (stream of consciousness). The animal associated is a Bear, which represents self-knowledge, growth, transition and the ability to stand within your own power.

The physical functions of the Solar Plexus lie in the sympathetic nervous system (known as the “fight or flight” response). It plays an important role in the functioning of the gastrointestinal system: stomach, kidneys, liver, appendix, pancreas, large and small intestines. Malfunctions may manifest as digestive and liver problems, chronic fatigue, high blood pressure, high cholesterol and gallbladder issues. The function of adrenals is to produce hormones that help regulate many systems: metabolism, immune, cardiovascular and nervous systems. 

The psychological function of a balanced Solar Plex are feelings of personal power. When it malfunctions one may experience feelings of unworthiness, self-doubt and weakness.

Yellow is the color. Wearing and surrounding yourself in yellow helps one achieve balance. For food, think yellow! Bananas, pineapple, corn, lemons, and yellow curry are all good choices. Bonus: Yellow is a natural mood enhancer. Also feed this chakra with complex carbohydrates and whole grains such as oats, brown rice and beans.

A recommended yoga pose is Reverse Plank Pose. Open your solar plexus skyward and invite the shining strength of the sun to your core.  

Activities for Solar Plexus balance include taking a walk, and meditating while sunbathing because the element is fire from the sun.

Try essential oils, incense or candle aromas such as Myrrh, Atlas Cedarwood, Ylang-Ylang, Lemongrass.

The crystals are Citrine, Tigers Eye, Pyrite, Yellow Jasper and Agate.

Affirmations are: “I am powerful and brave.” and “I am inspired and motivated.”

This article was created in collaboration with Maureen Keller, Pranic Healer at Pranic Life  and Kara, Body Intuitive and Owner of Shifting Souls Metaphysical Store.


Focused on providing self-directed health, Kara, Owner of Shifting Souls  Her store is located inside Unity of Central Florida (771 Holden Ave, Orlando, FL 32839).


 Kara can be reached at or 321-328-5912.

Older Post
Newer Post

Blog posts

Jan 26, 2023

Understanding the Throat Chakra

Kara Joyful Healer

A seven-month editorial series began with the Root Chakra (Sept), Sacral Chakra(Oct), Solar Plexus (Nov), Heart (Dec)...

Jan 26, 2023

Understanding the Heart Chakra

Kara Joyful Healer

A seven-month editorial series began with the Root Chakra (Sept), Sacral Chakra (Oct), Solar Plexus (Nov).  December ...

Jan 26, 2023

Understanding the Solar Plexus Chakra

Kara Joyful Healer

The Sacral Chakra is the second of seven chakras. It is located in the pelvic area. It is called Svadhisthana in Sanskrit. Physical creation occurs here and is needed for spiritual development.

Jan 26, 2023

Understanding the Sacral Chakra

Kara Joyful Healer

A seven-month editorial series began with the Root Chakra in the September edition of Natural Awakenings. October exp...

Nov 17, 2022

Understanding the Root Chakra

Kara Joyful Healer

The Root chakra (also called Muladhara or Pitti kalam) is the symbol of an elephant which is known as “abundant in strength.”
Close (esc)

Receive 10% off when you sign up to our newsletter.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.


Added to cart