Skip to content
Understanding the Throat Chakra

Understanding the Throat Chakra

A seven-month editorial series began with the Root Chakra (Sept), Sacral Chakra(Oct), Solar Plexus (Nov), Heart (Dec). January is all about the Throat Chakra. What is it? What organs are affected? How can I support my energy body health?

Chakras are an integral part of physical, psychological and spiritual functions. Chakras are whirling energy centers correlated to acupuncture points. These energy centers control and energize major organs. When they malfunction, the vital organs become sick or dis-eased because they can become unbalanced. Lack of balance occurs when there is not enough (or conversely too much) life energy or prana.

The Throat Chakra is the fifth of seven chakras. It is located at the base of the throat, at the center of the larynx. Also known as Vishuddha (Sanskrit), it is the center of communication, expression and growth. It is said to be the first entry point to pure consciousness.

The blue whale is the animal associated with the throat. Known for their communication skills and the ability to work under pressure, they know when to come up for air!

The frequency to open the throat is 741Hz. And, the thyroid gland plays a major role here. The thyroid produces hormones that regulate metabolism, maintain the correct heart rate and stimulate the growth of the brain and bone maintenance. When the throat chakra is unbalanced, it could lead to thyroid issues, sore throats, ear infections, neck and shoulder pain.

Since the psychological function is all about communication, a balanced throat chakra gives you the ability to speak your truth. However, when it malfunctions, feelings of depression, anxiety or low self-esteem can occur. 

Blue is the color which allows for a calmness of the mind and the slowing down of racing thoughts. Wearing and surrounding yourself in blue helps one achieve throat balance.

Foods to support this chakra are soothing and healing foods and liquids such as herbal teas, raw honey, coconut water, and lemon.

A recommended yoga pose is Cat-Cow Pose. This is a two-part spinal stretch which releases tension in the throat. Begin on all fours with your shoulders stacked over your wrists and hips stacked over your knees. Inhale while dropping your belly, open your chest and allow your throat to elongate. Then, exhale and round your back, drawing chin to chest and contracting your spine to lock in the posture. Repeat as many rounds of cat-cow as you want while you focus on expanding the throat area each time.

Try essential oils, incense or candle aromas such as frankincense, rosemary and eucalyptus.

The gems/crystals are Lapis Lazuli, Amazonite, Sodalite, Blue Lace Agate, Angelite, Larimar, Blue Calcite.

Affirmations include: “I trust my conviction and act on my truth.”  “I express my creativity with ease and joy, and I speak my truth.”

This article was created in collaboration with Maureen Keller, Pranic Healer at Pranic Life  and Kara, Body Intuitive and Owner of Shifting Souls Metaphysical Store.


Focused on providing self-directed health, Kara, Owner of Shifting Souls  Her store is located inside Unity of Central Florida (771 Holden Ave, Orlando, FL 32839).


 Kara can be reached at or 321-328-5912.

Older Post
Newer Post

Blog posts

Jan 26, 2023

Understanding the Throat Chakra

Kara Joyful Healer

A seven-month editorial series began with the Root Chakra (Sept), Sacral Chakra(Oct), Solar Plexus (Nov), Heart (Dec)...

Jan 26, 2023

Understanding the Heart Chakra

Kara Joyful Healer

A seven-month editorial series began with the Root Chakra (Sept), Sacral Chakra (Oct), Solar Plexus (Nov).  December ...

Jan 26, 2023

Understanding the Solar Plexus Chakra

Kara Joyful Healer

The Sacral Chakra is the second of seven chakras. It is located in the pelvic area. It is called Svadhisthana in Sanskrit. Physical creation occurs here and is needed for spiritual development.

Jan 26, 2023

Understanding the Sacral Chakra

Kara Joyful Healer

A seven-month editorial series began with the Root Chakra in the September edition of Natural Awakenings. October exp...

Nov 17, 2022

Understanding the Root Chakra

Kara Joyful Healer

The Root chakra (also called Muladhara or Pitti kalam) is the symbol of an elephant which is known as “abundant in strength.”
Close (esc)

Receive 15% off when you sign up to our newsletter.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.


Added to cart